Two Simpson players honored with conference awards

Simpson University Sports News


REDDING, Calif. - Holy Names University placed five players in the first team to headline the California Pacific Conference men's golf all-conference team, Commissioner Don Ott announced today.

Holy Names golfers Garrett True, Robbie Bendorf, Stephen Edman, Daren Johnson and Austin Fink made the first team. True had an average conference tournament round of 72.5 and was named Golfer of the Year for his efforts. Bendorf and Edman shot an average of 74.3 and 74.8 per round, Johnson had an average round of 75 and Fink had an average of 76.33.

The only other representative on the first team is Mitch Card from Simpson University. Card shot a 76.38 average. The second team had four members from William Jessup University - Derek Zachman, Gareth Gobey, Zachary Kuykendall and Phil LaFata - and one representative from Simpson University, Micah Eppler.

First Team

Robbi Bendorf Holy Names   SR 74.33 Rocklin, CA
Mitch Card Simpson University 6’0” SO 76.38 Redding, CA
Stephen Edman Holy Names   JR 74.83 Canyon Lakes, CA
Austin Fink Holy Names   JR 76.33 Roseville, CA
Daren Johnson Holy Names   SR 75.75 Costa Meas, CA
Garrett True Holy Names   SR 72.50 Corona, CA

Second Team

Micah Eppler Simpson University 6’2” SR 77.13 Alturas, CA
Gareth Gobey William Jessup 6’0” JR 78.88 Durban, South Africa
Zachary Kuykendall William Jessup 5’11” SO 80.14 Honolulu, HI
Phil Laftat William Jessup 5’10” SR 80.83 Moonpark, CA
Dereck Zachman William Jessup 6’0” FR 76.75 Auburn, CA


Contact: Derrick Pringle, Jr.
(530) 226-4731