Simpson runners and coach earn all-conference cross country honors

Simpson University Sports News


REDDING, Calif. - Holy Names University and William Jessup University each placed four runners on the California Pacific Conference men's and women's cross country teams, Commissioner Don Ott announced on Nov. 9.

Men's conference champion William Jessup University placed three runners on the men's all-conference team. The Warriors' Kimberly Spencer was named the women's all-conference team. Women's conference champion Simpson University placed Hannah Dooley and Rebekah Studebaker on the women's all-conference team. The Red Hawks' Tony Moore was named to the men's team.

In addition to Simpson's and William Jessup's representatives, Holy Names placed four runners on the two teams. On the men's side, they placed Fernando Diaz and Zachary Holt; and on the women's team, they placed Maricruz Espindola and Agnes Silvestro. UC Merced also placed three on the all-conference teams - Daniel Pena on the men's side and Alexandria Curtis and Jillian Foster on the women's side.

Runner of the Year honors for the men went to Fernando Diaz of Holy Names and the honor for the women went to Agnes Silvestro. The Men's Coach of the Year award went to Parker Daniells of William Jessup. Simpson University cross country coach Ben Gurczynski won the Women's Coach of the Year award.

Men's Team

Chadd Baltzley William Jessup SR Loomis, CA
Ben Burchett William Jessup JR Tracy, CA
Fernando Diaz Holy Names SR Daly City, CA
Zachary Holt Holy Names JR Bakersfield, CA
Tony Moore Simpson University JR Redding, CA
Daniel Pena UC Merced FR Lompoc, CA
Wayne Smith William Jessup SO Hayward, CA

Women's Team

Alexandria Curtis UC Merced SO San Jose, CA
Hannah Dooley Simpson University SO Witchita Falls, TX
Maricruz Espindola Holy Names JR Dinuba, CA
Jillian Foster UC Merced FR Livermoore, CA
Agnes Slivestro Holy Names JR Sudan, Africa
Kimberyly Spencer William Jessup SR Diamond, MI
Rebekah Studebaker Simpson University SR Albuquerque, NM


Courtesy of the California Pacific Conference


Contact: Derrick Pringle, Jr.
(530) 226-4731