Eight SU players selected to the All Cal Team

Simpson University Sports News


REDDING, Calif. - California Pacific Conference regular season champion William Jessup University swept all five individual awards and placed four players on the first team to headline the California Pacific Conference softball all-conference team, Commissioner Don Ott announced today.

William Jessup junior infielder Samantha McMahan, who was named Player of the Year, was joined on the first team by teammates Mallory Blodgett, Kelsey Meyers and Erin Houston. Meyers won the conference's Newcomer of the Year award and Houston won the Pitcher of the Year award.

Simpson University, the conference regular season runner-up, had five representatives on the first team in players Morgan Davis, Chelsea Dunn, Brooke Downs, Nicki Feuerbach and Valerie Rodriguez. Davis, Feuerbach and Rodriguez from Simpson and Blodgett from William Jessup made their second consecutive all conference first team.

The Freshman of the Year award went to William Jessup's Jode Johnson and the Coach of the Year award went to William Jessup's Jessica Pistole.

Individual Awards

Player of the Year: Samantha McMahan, William Jessup

Pitcher of the Year: Erin Houston, William Jessup

Newcomer of the Year: Kelsey Meyers, William Jessup

Freshman of the Year: Jode Johnson, William Jessup

Coach of the Year: Jessica Pistole, William Jessup

All Cal Pac First Team

Name School Position Year Hometown
Mallory Blodgett William Jessup INF SO Folsom, CA
Morgan Davis Simpson INF / P SO Redding, CA
Brooke Downs Simpson INF JR Millville, CA
Chelsea Dunn Simpson U FR Sacramento, CA
Nicki Feuerbach Simpson OF JR Anderson, CA
Erin Houston William Jessup P SR Salinas, CA
Samantha McMahan William Jessup INF JR Rio Linda, CA
Kelsey Meyers William Jessup C JR Brea, CA
Valerie Rodriguez Simpson INF JR Torrance, CA

All Cal Pac Second Team

Name School Position Year Hometown
Kara Besseghini William Jessup P SR Dixon, CA
Jordynn Elwood Holy Names OF SO Lodi, CA
Samantha Fisher Holy Names OF JR Tracy, CA
Heather Hunt Bethany OF JR Garden Grove, CA
Nicole Hutchins Simpson OF SO Rancho Cordova, CA
Jode Johnson William Jessup INF FR Ceres, CA
Heidi Louber William Jessup U SO Chico, CA
Hayley Rodriguez Simpson P SO Torrance, CA
Mikayela Viramontes Menlo P / 3B SO Reedly, CA

All Cal Pac Honorable Mention

Bethany: Danielle Gomez, Katelyn Heinrich, Nicole Kuykendall, Stephanie Pesqueira

Holy Names: Stephani Fairclough, Rachael Martinez, Taryn Thomas

Menlo: Jessica Cobb, Stephanie Gilbert, Ululani Reyes, Jessica Soliai

Simpson: Paige Gomez

William Jessup: Cassie Emerson

Contact: Derrick Pringle, Jr.
(530) 226-4731