Red Hawks compete at NCCAA Nationals

Simpson University Sports News


CEADERVILLE, Ohio. - The men and women's cross country teams were in action on Saturday, Nov. 10, in the NCCAA National Championships, hosted by Cedarville University at the Elvin R. King Cross Country Course. The men compete in a 8K run, and the women competed in a 5K run.

combined time of 2:07:48.74. Malone finished in second with a score of 38 points (2:08:35.57), and Cal Baptist placed third with a score of 42 points (2:10:52.25). The Red Hawks finished 25th out of 31 schools with a score of 191 (2:26:59.95). Individually, Malone's Andrew Trusty set the pace with a time of 25:00.16. Geoffery Njonjo from Oklahoma Christian placed second with a time of 25:10.84, and Carlos Perez from Shorter finished third with a time of 25:12.35.

Red Hawk standout Tony Moore led the Red Hawks and finished in 31st in the field of 220 with a time of 26:35.73. Brad Arkens placed 140th with a time of 29:15.75, followed by Nate Marshall (29:58.46), Ryan Guerrero (30:19.78), Thomas McAtee (30:50.23), Kevin Martin (32.11.01) and Matt Eyman (32:59.21).

On the women's side, Azuza Pacific led the field of 28 schools with a score of 50 points and a total time of 1:33:40.75. Roberts Wesleyan finished in second with 84 points with a time of 1:34:19.55, and Malone placed third place with a score of 103 and a time of 1:34:30.32. The Red Hawks finished in 21st place with a score of 176 and a time of 1:46:16.67.

Individually, Cal Baptist junior Jennifer Mallen earned the top spot with a time of 17:43.20. Regan Mullen from Colorado Christian finished in second place with a time of 17:46.29, and Malone's Tina Oprean rounded out the top three with a time of 17:55.56.

Rebekah Studebaker led the Red Hawks by finishing in 28th place out of 204 runners with time of 19:13.79. Jaclyn Van Schooten finished 94th with a time of 20:46.29, followed by Rebekah Groen (21:19.13), Summer Holloway (22:20.96), Jovita Avila (22:36.50), Michaela Justice (23:01.68) and Ellyn Hilts (23:27.16).


Story by Dan Anderson

View the men's cross country schedule and results page

View the women's cross country schedule and results page


Contact: Derrick Pringle, Jr.
(530) 226-4731