2012 All-Cal Pac men's basketball team announced

Simpson University Sports News


REDDING, Calif. - California Pacific Conference regular season champion CSU Maritime Academy placed a league-high two players on the all-conference first team, and two Keelhaulers won two of the conference's most illustrious awards, Commissioner Don Ott announced on Wednesday, Feb. 24.

Led by Defender of the Year Josh Greenwell, the Keelhaulers also are represented on the first team by senior Isaiah Moore. Moore averaged 13.6 points to guide CSU Maritime to a 19-9 overall record and a 12-0 record in conference play. This is the first in conference history that a team has gone undefeated. Fifth year CSU Maritime head coach Bryan Rooney was named Coach of the Year.

Menlo College had two players on the first team: California Pacific Conference Player of the Year Tim Tatum and Newcomer of the Year ChaRunn Jones. Simpson also placed two on the first team in Bryan Castillo and Travis Derochowski. Holy Names had one player on the first team in Karlos Grier. Aki Chambers, the conference's leading scorer, of UC Merced made the team, along with Pacific Union's Josh Jewitt and William Jessup's Marqus Crawford.

Ian Corella of Simpson was selected as the conference's Freshman of the Year.

"This was another exciting season in the Cal Pac, made so by student-athletes of this caliber,” said Ott. “My congratulations to the individuals and the institutions they represent as the conference teams now battle for a spot in the NAIA championships."

  • Player of the Year: Tim Tatum, Menlo
  • Defender of the Year: Josh Greenwell, CSU Maritime
  • Newcomer of the Year: ChaRunn Jones, Menlo
  • Freshman of the Year: Ian Corella, Simpson
  • Coach of the Year: Bryan Rooney, CSU Maritime

First Team All-Cal Pac

Player School Height Year Position Hometown
Bryan Castillo Simpson 6'2" SR G Benicia, CA
Aki Chambers UC Merced 6'3" JR G San Anselmo, CA
Marqus Crawford William Jessup 6'1" SR G San Jose, CA
Travis Derochowski Simpson 6'9" SR P McMinnville, OR
Josh Greenwall Cal Maritime 6'2" SR F Vallejo, CA
Karlos Grier Holy Names 5'10" SR G Fresno, CA
Josh Jewett Pacific Union 6'8" SR P Scottsdale, AZ
ChaRunn Jones Menlo 5'10" JR G Fresno, CA
Isaiah Moore Cal Maritime 6'3" SR F San Leandro, CA
Tim Tatum Menlo 6'6" SR F Vacaville, CA

Second Team All-Cal Pac

  • Anthony Anderson, William Jessup
  • Keven Campbell, Cal Maritime
  • Ian Corella, Simpson
  • Isaiah Johnson, Cal Maritime
  • Mc McElroy, Holy Names

Honorable Mention

  • Fabian Lopez, Zac Sewitsky, Holy Names
  • Andrew Young, Menlo
  • Marcus Carter, Pacific Union
  • Javon Barrino, UC Merced
  • Preston Bramow, Jordan Wilson, William Jessup


Story courtesy of the California Pacific Conference

Photo by Carol Thacker

Pictured Above: Ian Corella

View the men's basketball schedule and results page


Contact: Derrick Pringle, Jr.
(530) 226-4731