Beamon, Vega, Lobsinger earn All-American honors

Simpson University Sports News


KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2013 NAIA Wrestling All-Americans. Honors were bestowed to the top-eight finishers in each weight class at the 56th annual NAIA Wrestling National Championships that were held March 1 - 2 at the Jacobson Exhibition Center in Des Moines, Iowa.

Headlining the 80 wrestlers that earned the honor are Mitchell Lofstedt of Southern Oregon and Myles Mazurkiewicz of Great Falls (Mont.), as both individuals received their fourth All-America honor. Lofstedt closed his senior season with his third national title at 125 pounds after pinning (2:31) Bryden Lazaro of Dickinson State (N.D.) in the finals. The senior stuck all five opponents he faced en route to becoming the first 125-pound wrestler to win three NAIA titles. Lofstedt was named the national championships Most Outstanding Wrestler and also took home the NAIA-NWCA Wrestler of the Year award.

Mazurkiewicz finished second at the national championships for the second time in his career - the first coming in 2010 (133). The 141-pound senior closed 2012 with a 37-4 record.

Cameron Schrempp of Dickinson State (174) and Grand View's (Iowa) Derek Nightser (197) became three-time All-Americans with third-place finishes in their respective weight class. Schrempp's other two All-America honors came in 2010 (fourth-place) and 2011 (eighth-place). Nightser has now claimed three-straight awards with a runner-up finish in 2012 and a fifth-place in 2011.

There were 22 individuals that earned the distinction of All-American for a second time, while 54 placed among the top eight of their weight class for the first time.

National runner-up Southern Oregon had nine wrestlers receive All-America honors, followed by national champion Grand View with eight. Montana State-Northern placed seven grapplers on the podium, while Dickinson State, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Campbellsville (Ky.) and Great Falls tallied five place-winners.

First year programs Simpson (Calif.), Life (Ga.) and Benedictine (Kan.) each had an individual take home All-American honors. Anthony Vega placed fifth at 141 pounds, Brady Beamon was eighth at 165 and Austin Lobsinger placed fourth at 285 pounds for Simpson. Trey Hicks earned fifth at 184 pounds for Life, while Benedictine's Joe Hunter claimed eighth at 149.

In total, 25 different programs earned at least one honor.

141 Pounds

Player School Year Hometown
Gustavo Martinez Grand View (Iowa) SO Marshalltown, Iowa
Myles Mazurkiewicz Great Falls (Mont.) SR Havre, Mont.
Brandon Westerman Campbellsville (Ky,) JR Atlanta, Ga.
Wismit Moinius Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) JR Maples, Fla.
Anthony Vega Simpson (Calif.) JR Olivehurst, Calif.
Jake Williams Cumberland (Tenn.) SO Rio Rancho, N.M.
Chris Hart Wayland Baptist (Texas) SO Katy, TX
Brad Steele Dickinson State (N.D.) SR Beach, N.D.

165 Pounds

Player School Year Hometown
Jimmy Schuessler Grand View (Iowa) SO Slater, Iowa
Eric Lopez Menlo (Calif.) SO Turlock, CA
Ethan Hinebauch MSU-Northern SO Harve, Mont.
Shawn Lau Great Falls (Mont.) SO Kalispell, Mont.
Zach Skates Oklahoma City R-FR Broken Arrow, Okla.
Sterling Terry Minland (Neb.) SO Geuda Springs, Kan.
Derek Mestrovich Southern Oregon SR Boise, Idaho
Brady Beamon Simpson (Calif.) FR Spring Valley, Calif.

285 Pounds

Player School Year Hometown
Eric Thompson Grand View (Iowa) JR. Shell Rock, Iowa
Brandon Gebhardt Baker (Kan.) SR Sparks, Nev.
Jose Lopez Dickinson State (N.D.) SR Montebello, Calif.
Austin Lobsinger Simpson (Calif.) FR Anderson, Calif.
Lonnie Brown Midland (Neb.) JR Phoenix, Ariz.
Scott Brasil Menlo (Calif.) SO San Jose, Calif.
Sears Tiernan Great Falls (Mont.) SR Delray Beach, Fla.
James Alter Missouri Valley SR Kirksville, Mo.

Click here to see a list of all the NAIA All-American winners.


Story courtesy of Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

View the men's wrestling schedule and results page


Contact: Derrick Pringle, Jr.
(530) 226-4731