DeJesus, Davis, Dunn, Montes, Wall earn all-conference honors

Simpson University Sports News


REDDING, Calif. - California Pacific Conference regular season co-champions Simpson University and William Jessup University combined to win three individual awards and placed 11 players on the all-conference team to headline the California Pacific Conference softball all-conference team, Commissioner Don Ott announced today.

Simpson, the runner-up in the NAIA Unaffiliated Grouping (Cal Pac/GSAC) No. 1 Tournament, placed five players on the all-conference team. Cherie DeJesus, who won Newcomer of the Year honors, was joined on the team by teammates Morgan Davis, Chelsea Dunn, Noel Montes and Kara Wall.

William Jessup won two individual awards and had six representatives on the team. Sophomore Brittany Lamar won Player of the Year honors and sophomore Emily Buhrkuhl won Pitcher of the Year honors; both made the first team. Lamar won last year’s Freshman of the Year honors for the California Pacific Conference. Their teammates Mallory Blodgett, Breihanna Castilleja, Casey Lucas and Leesha Shoemaker also made the team.

Menlo College won two individual awards and had five representatives on the team. The Oaks’ coach Michell Vlahos won Coach of the Year honors, and Mary Hall won Freshman of the Year honors. The Oaks placed Kayla Cisneroz, Hall, Nicole Larson, Jessica Soliai and Emmeline Wang on the team.

Individual Awards

Player of the Year: Brittany Lamar, William Jessup

Pitcher of the Year: Emily Buhrkuhl, William Jessup

Newcomer of the Year: Cherie DeJesus, Simpson

Freshman of the Year: Mary Hall, Menlo

Coach of the Year: Michell Vlahos, Menlo

All Cal Pac First Team

Name School Position Year Hometown
Mallory Blodgett William Jessup INF SR Folsom, CA
Emily Buhrkuhl William Jessup P SO Stockton, CA
Breihanna Castilleja William Jessup U SR Modesto, CA
Kayla Cisneroz Menlo /C/OF SO Morgan Hill, CA
Morgan Davis Simpson INF/P JR Redding, CA
Cherie DeJesus Simpson INF JR Manteca, CA
Chelsea Dunn Simpson U SO Sacramento, CA
Mary Hall Menlo U FR San Jose, CA
Brittany Lamar William Jessup C SO Manteca, CA
Nicole Larsen Menlo OF/2B DO San Martin, CA
Casey Lucas William Jessup INF SR Newport Beach, CA
Noel Montes Simpson INF FR Stockton, CA
Leesha Shoemaker William Jessup OF JR Fair Oaks, CA
Jessica Soliai Menlo 3B/1B JR Citrus Heights, CA
Kara Wall Simpson C FR Rancho Cordova, CA
Emmeline Wang Menlo C/OF SO Fremont, CA


Courtesy of the California Pacific Conference

View the women's softball schedule and results page


Contact: Derrick Pringle, Jr.
(530) 226-4731